play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of 5th Gear Motor Company Ltd

At 5th Gear Motor Company Ltd we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

5th Gear Motor Company Ltd

5th Gear Motor Company Ltd
5
4.9

Based on 134 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    Reliable, Helpful and Quick

    By Katie W on 09 October 2018 | Verified purchase

    So reliable, helpful and quick. Car was bought Saturday afternoon and was picked up on Monday. Would definitely recommend!!!


  • 5

    This Dealer is worth at least 10 stars!

    By Carolion S on 29 September 2018 | Verified purchase

    I live over 200 miles from where 5th Gear are based so I had to rely on them to give me an honest and truthful description of the car before I made the journey to see it. They took the time to describe the car in detail to me, to answer the queries I had based on the photographs I could see of the vehicle and worked hard to set my mind at rest about any possible issues I may have. My Phone calls were answered speedily and Oz was very patient, appreciating that I was prepared to travel a long way to see the car. We came to a deal over the phone, and we were as delighted as they promised we would be when we finally saw the car. I would definitely buy from 5th Gear again and highly recommend them. Definitely worth 5 stars, would give more if I could.


  • 5

    Excellent

    By Martin F on 28 September 2018 | Verified purchase

    Excellent customer service very smooth purchase with part ex will definitely recommend to friends and family Love the car


  • 5

    Exactly what we expected great experience

    By Glynn S on 11 September 2018 | Verified purchase

    Polite, honest from the first phone call to collecting my car , car ready and waiting and as exactly described no surprises which was fantastic as we travelled from Cornwall to London to view this car and was not disappointed and was greeted with a coffee


  • 5

    Excellent service

    By Claire O on 04 September 2018 | Verified purchase

    We bought a lovely car from the friendly helpful salesmen, and it was delivered the same day. Excellent service!


  • 5

    Great car

    By Georgina W on 30 August 2018 | Verified purchase

    I bought a Hyundai i10 & had a lovely easy experience. The owner of this company was so friendly and chatty, the test drive was great and I was allowed to put a deposit down and buy the car the next day. Amazing service & got a great car. Very happy!!!!


  • 5

    I am a return customer great service

    By ARTHUR H on 28 August 2018 | Verified purchase

    As a return customer it’s great dealing with someone that treats you like family. Great service definitely will be back. Thanks guys


  • 5

    Genuinely impressed

    By Mark D on 25 August 2018 | Verified purchase

    I have just purchased a Hyandai i30 from 5th Gear Motor Company. It's a really lovely car and was fairly priced. I was particularly impressed with the staff at 5th Gear who were so helpful as well as the Lifetime Warranty. I have no hesitation in recommending this car dealer. I was genuinely impressed.


  • 5

    “ Exceeds Expectations! ”

    By Sabrina H on 24 August 2018 | Verified purchase

    I went in expecting to purchase a used vehicle. I didn't even want to consider a new vehicle thinking it was out of my price range. Zee took the time to give me all of my options and was never pushy. I ended up getting a beautiful CC BMW that I LOVE and can afford. He even took the time to make sure I knew how everything worked and was set up properly I highly recommend 5TH Gear motor C Ltd. I am now a happy bunny.


  • 5

    Awful Experience

    By Anonymous on 21 May 2021 | Purchase not verified

    On the 20th April, I brought a BMW 650i Sport, from 5th Gear Motor Company. After 2 days I heard a grinding sound so the dealer said to take it for diagnostic, before I bought the car the dealer said I could send the car for repairs locally, they found faults with the brake disc, suspension bushes, water pump, pipes for water pump, vacuum pump, oil leaks from the vacuum pump, driveshaft grease leak, rocker cover oil leaks with gaskets and the IDrive is also faulty. The dealer either didn't inspect the car before it was sold to me or the dealer knew of the faults and sold the car to me anyway expecting the warranty company to fix the car. Also while driving the car on the motorway a found it necessary to brake hard and the car pulled to the left and nearly flipped. Please please if you are looking to buy a car from 5th Gear Motor Company or you're looking to buy the BMW 650i Sport from the dealer read the reviews from Google because on Google the dealer calls the company Bromley Car Sales. I was able to get a full refund but throughout the process of owning the car and getting my money back the dealer never believed he'd done anything wrong even though he was expecting me to keep the car with the faulty IDrive and for me to pay to fix the brakes, the dealer even refused to pay for Gaskets, please stay clear or at the very least check the car you buy from this dealer very closely. The dealer also says you can get your car repaired locally but always wanted me to take the car 130 miles back to him. The dealer has the car listed again on Auto Trader and I believe no repairs have been done.

    Reply from 5th Gear Motor Company Ltd on 26/05/21

    We are sorry to read the above comments, we take great care and pride to ensure our customers receive the best possible service and cars. We endeavoured to do this with you as follows:•On the 20th April you viewed the car with which you said you were happy and proceeded with the purchase. However, it became apparent that the hard drive was not connecting to your phone and we agreed to pay for it to be fixed. •To ensure you had returned home safely from your long drive, a courtesy text message was sent, to which you replied that you were home and happy with the car. •You also wanted to purchase an extended warranty, however you requested to pay on the 12th May to which we agreed and we proceeded to pay for the warranty on your behalf until then. We have now made a loss as we purchased the warranty in good faith.•As agreed, you took the car to a BMW dealership for the hard drive, however during the inspection, which we had paid for, other issues were discovered. Despite some issues, the BMW technician at the end of the video concluded that overall, the car was in good condition. •Following on from this we offered to get the car collected – which was over 150 miles away and then repaired under the warranty, however as we discussed wear and tear is not covered by the warranty and clearly stated in the terms and conditions, so as good will gesture to cover the costs of these repairs we offered for you to keep the outstanding money from the warranty and use it to pay for them.•You later responded by wanting to return the car for a full refund which we agreed to. However, the following day you called and asked if you could keep the car and if we could work together to get the car fixed, which again, we agreed to and we also agreed to collect the car from you in order to carry out the repairs. •Later that week, following on from another inspection – which again we covered the cost to keep you happy, you informed us that you would like to return the car. We agreed and requested your bank details which you sent and then you proceeded with another text to say that you would like to keep the car and to organise the repairs, again we agreed to this.•On the 15th May we contacted you to make arrangements to collect the car on the 18th May. Then on the 17th May you called to say you no longer wanted the car due to personal reasons, we again agreed and collected the car on the 18th May and immediately issued you with a full refund. This was the third time you had changed your mind. It's a shame that you have chosen to review us in this way, especially after all the time and effort we spent trying to make you happy, your rating does not reflect the efforts that we went to or what was done, you have chosen to omit them from your review. Many thanks